that census meme

2011: living in mortgaged 2 bedroomed (but reasonably sized) urban terraced house in Kingston-upon-Hull in the East Riding of Yorkshire, with husband Pete and five cats. Working as a web developer in our own small webdev business.

2001: living in rented 3 bedroomed (but too small) 1970s terraced house in Long Ashton, just outside Bristol, with (I think) eight cats.[edit: no – it was nine!] Married to and working with Pete as above.

1991: single mum living in mortgaged small terrace house in Great Yarmouth, working with first husband in small bespoke accounting software and network installing company (which we started after we divorced in 1985!).

1981: stay at home mum living in mortgaged large terraced house remarkably like this one, but split into three bedrooms upstairs, in Leicester. Was working on Saturdays at BHS as a supervisor. Two cats, I think.

1971: living in Perth, Scotland, with alcoholic single father in MoD 4 bedroom detached house of grandeur and deep unhappiness. Although I might have been at my convent boarding school on the day; that was full of grandeur and deep unhappiness too.

1961: living in rented 3 bedroom mansion flat inFitzgeorge Avenue, West Kensington, London with two deeply unhappy parents who loathed each other. The memories are still strong. I think I was at St Paul’s prep school then – they really did have ideas above their station and budget.

Was not even a twinkle in 1951, but as you can see, I am Very Old.

who should I vote for?

Take the Who Should You Vote For? England quiz

Green 93
Liberal Democrat 65
UK Independence -2
Labour -35
Conservative -41

You expected: GRN

Your recommendation: Green

Click here for more details about these results

I identify as Green in most of these polls, but as our local Green candidate knows, I’m voting LibDem to get the Labour woman out.  Bring on proper proportional representation, say I!

places I've lived

London W11 (born)
Perth, Scotland
London W14
Dunfermline, Scotland
Edinburgh (Queensferry Road)
Perth, Scotland (yes, again – father in MOD, so moved a lot)
Edinburgh (Stockbridge)
Edinburgh (Corstorphine)
Leicester (about 5 different houses)
Burgess Hill, Sussex
Salhouse, Norfolk
Great Yarmouth
Gorleston, Norfolk (pattern here as I moved further and further east until my feet got wet)
Clevedon, Somerset
Long Ashton, near Bristol

It’s quite a lot really, now I look back.

self (meme)

self (meme)
Originally uploaded by ramtops

Take a picture of yourself right now. Don’t change your clothes. Don’t fix your hair. Just take a picture. Post that picture with no editing. (Except maybe to get the image size down to something reasonable. Don’t go posting an eight megapixel image.) Include these instructions.

Taken with my iPhone, before I’d even brushed my hair … (but I am showered and dressed!) …

[bah] The one-word meme

As seen on the_magician‘s LJ, and many more.

Where is your mobile phone? Desk
Your significant other? Shower
Your hair? Head
Your mother? Dead
Your father? Dead
Your favourite thing? Cats
Your dream last night? Zulu
Your favourite drink? Tea
Your dream/goal? Security
The room you’re in? Study
Your ex? Norwich
Your fear? Senility
Where do you want to be in 6 years? Here
Where were you last night? Downstairs
What you’re not? Thin
Muffins? Yes!
One of your wish list items? iPhone
Where you grew up? Scotland
The last thing you did? Arose
What are you wearing? Dressinggown
Your TV? Downstairs
Your pets? Everywhere
Your computer? Mac
Your life? Busy
Your mood? tired
Missing someone? Yes
Your car? FTO
Something you’re not wearing? Shoes
Favourite Store? Deli
Your summer? Working
Like someone? Certainly
Your favorite color? Red
Last time you laughed? Today
Last time you cried? Yesterday


gacked from blue-condition

A.) Four jobs I have had in my life (other than current job):

Bank clerk at the TSB, import/export administrator, network engineer, temp

B.) Four movies I would watch over and over:
Strictly Ballroom, The American President, Notting Hill, anything with Johnny Depp

C.) Four places I have lived
Edinburgh, Leicester, Norfolk (various), London

D.) Four TV shows that I watch

Grand Designs, Channel 4 News, Question Time, Wife Swap (I know, I know)

E.) Four places I have been:

Monterey, Boothbay Harbor, Galway, Sorrento

F.) People who e-mail me (regularly):
Clients. They never stop.

G.) Four of my favourite foods:

Almost any “proper” Indian food, sausages, red cabbage, toast and marmite

H. ) Four places I would rather be right now:

Actually, I’m pretty happy here, but I’d go to Ireland right this moment.

J.) Four Things I am looking forward to this year:

Being solvent, spending a week looking after our grandson, surviving. That’ll do.

K.) Four favourite authors:
Sebastian Faulkes, Margaret Attwood, Terry Pratchett, Nikki French